top of page
  • Writer's pictureJayson Toney

Viva Las NUMAS

The 21st Annual NUMAS Award Ceremony was held on Friday, May 3, 2024, in the Smith-Pendergraft Campus Center to honor the commitments and achievements of the University of Arkansas- Fort Smith’s registered student organizations, student trailblazers, and devoted advisers. Members across the River Valley gathered for a Vegas-themed celebration filled with fabulous food and decorations to commemorate the hard work done by students, faculty, and staff this year.

NUMAS awards honor students who have demonstrated exceptional leadership abilities, student organizations that enrich campus culture, and advisers who served their groups and promoted educational achievement. Krystal Boylan and Kendrix Holcomb, 2024 Homecoming Queen and King, were Emcees for the evening. Hosted by Campus and Community Engagement, this black-tie event gave guests a true taste of Vegas. 

Congratulations to the following award winners on being stellar examples of what it means to be a UAFS Lion! 

Star of Excellence Registered Student Organization Award: 

Black Students Alliance, K-pop Appreciation and Dance Club, Vietnamese Student Association, AIGA UAFS Student Group for Design, Baha'i Club, Filipino Student Association, Hmong Student Association, and Sisterhood Expansion

Chancellor’s Spirit Award: 

Braden Nguyen (Fort Smith, AR)

Krystal Boylan (Fort Smith, AR)

NUMAS Award Winners: 

LionHeart Service Award: Le Hoai Thuong Nguyen (Fort Smith, AR)

Best New Event: Holi (Desi Culture Club) 

Event of the Year: Lunar New Year (Vietnamese Student Association)

Committed to Connection and Belonging Award: Sigma Nu Fraternity

Community Service Organization of the Year: Student American Dental Hygienists’ Association

Legacy Maker Award (selected by the UAFS Alumni Advisory Council): Cub Camp

Community Supporter Award: Joanna Grana (Lindale, TX), SisterHood Expansion 

Advisor of the Year: Dyllan Newell (Fort Smith, AR), Campus Activities Board 

New Organization of the Year: K-pop Appreciation and Dance Club

Organization of the Year: Vietnamese Student Association

Student Leader of the Year: Anthony Alfaro (Soyapango, El Salvador), Filipino Student Association 


bottom of page