top of page
  • Writer's pictureJonathan Schafer

Students' Guide to the 2022 Arkansas Primaries

Updated: Aug 15, 2022

Giant signs lining the highways and your neighbor's yards can only mean one thing. It’s election season in the Natural State. The deadline to register to vote in the May Primaries is fast approaching so here is your Lions’ Chronicle cheat sheet for understanding the 2022 Arkansas Primaries.

What even are the primaries?

In the simplest of terms, the primary elections are the elections before THE election. Each political party votes on which candidate to send to the general election on November 8th.

Candidates from across the state will compete with each other in hopes of representing their party in the general elections. Then in the general election, the winners of each party's primary will go head to head to determine who gets to hold that office.

Arkansas is one of 21 states that holds “Open Primaries” which means you can vote for any candidate, regardless of political affiliation. So if a registered Republican was wowed by a Democratic candidate and wanted to cast them on their ballot, they’re free to do so.

The deadline to register to vote in this year’s primary is April 24th. If you’re not sure if you’re registered, you can check via More info on how to register can be found on the Arkansas Secretary of State site.

Okay? So who are we voting for?

*Disclaimer: We will be focusing on elections specific to Fort Smith and Sebastian County residents. Non-residents can consult Ballotpedia for more info on their local elections*

Seats for the US Senate, US House, State Governor, State Senate, and State Supreme Court will be up for election this year, as well as several notable ballot measures. Below you can find some of our candidates to watch in all the major races, and some facts you should know. Incumbents are indicated with underlines.

U.S. Senate

Incumbent John Boozman is running for re-election in 2022. His term is set to end on January 3, 2022.

  • Has held office for 11 years.

  • Began his political career in 2001

  • Voted for banning abortion after 20 weeks and against Trump’s 2019 border wall emergency declaration.

  • Conservative Commentator, National Spokesperson for Citizens for Trump

  • Platform includes: secure borders and immigration control and term-limits

  • Realtor and small business owner of a cleaning company

  • Health-care reform, strengthening agriculture and addressing climate change

  • Relieving student debt, decriminalization of cannabis, healthcare for all

U.S. House

All Arkansas representatives will be up for election. All four incumbents are running for re-election. After redistricting, Sebastian County is split in half between districts 3 and 4, so residents of southern Sebastian County (south of Greenwood) will be voting for the representatives in district 4.

District 3

  • Assumed office in 2011

  • Former Mayor of Rogers

  • Voted for coronavirus aid

  • Member of the Sons of the American Revolution and Sons of Confederate Veterans

  • Stop the Great Replacement, End Opioid Plague

  • Speech-language pathologist

  • Healthcare, investing in public schools, promoting entrepreneurs in NWA

District 4

  • Assumed office in 2015

  • Currently serving on Committee of Natural Resources and Committee of Transportation and Infrastructure

Gregory Maxwell

  • Children minister

  • No official website or known platform

Gubernatorial (Governor)

Governor Asa Hutchinson cannot run for re-election due to term limits. He has served the office since 2015.

  • Daughter of former Arkansas Governor Mike Huckabee

  • Former Press Secretary from 2017 to 2019

  • Ran the Arkansas Regional Innovation hub

  • Preschool for all, broadband for Arkansas, mental health resources

  • Founder and CEO of Dr. Anthony D. Bland Foundation, Inc.

The primaries are set to take place on May 24th, with a runoff to take place on June 21st. Early voting opens up on May 9th and will be available from 8 AM to 6 PM until May 23rd.


bottom of page